The Cents kick off the 2023-24 season with some new faces!, News (Seaforth Centenaires)

News Article
News Article Image
Oct 26, 2023 | Holy Roller | 3081 views
The Cents kick off the 2023-24 season with some new faces!

Seaforth your Centenaires are coming back to town after a 2-0-0 start to the season and are ready to continue the Show!

Saturday Night the boys take on the 1
st place Saugeen Shores Winter Hawks (3-1-0) at the Seaforth District Community Centre, 7:30pm Puck Drop. BE THERE!


With another new season comes a few new faces.


Starting behind the bench, Barry Young has taken over the helm to a familiar staff that he had been a part of the last couple of seasons. Seaforth also sees the additions of Joe Nesbitt, Joey Bell and Drew Gross to the organization.


This year’s on ice squad has a majority of the cast returning as 17 guys are back from last year’s group. 


Milestones to Watch

Centenaires Captain Reuben Smith has his sights set on breaking the Franchises All Times Games played record this season, he sits 3 back of tying former captain Brendon Merritt. That isn’t the only record Smith has within his grasp as he is now only 9 assists away from the top spot (Merritt), a feat he has eclipsed in each of the past 6 seasons.

Fan favourite Braydon Blight has been rapidly climbing the Franchise Penalty Minute leaderboard and moved into 5th all-time in the team’s 5-2 win over the Minto 81’s on October 14th.  


Now the NEW GUYS. 


Yes, we’ve done some recruiting!


Welcome aboard,

#9 Kyle Stanburry, a big body up front form Goderich, the former Wingham Ironman Captain joins the mix and has made an early impact leading the team with 5 points through its first 2 games. 


#10 Sheldon Pryce, an offensive winger and Seaforth native comes home after a damn good junior career in Stratford where they captured the Cherry Cup last spring. 


#15 Zach Hatch, a puck moving D man who races cars (Zach Hatch Racing) when he isn’t racing up and down the ice. The Elora native also spent last season in Stratford capturing the Cherry Cup.


#17 Zach Otto, A big 2 way D man from Stratford, who had a long junior career in Tavistock and Exeter took last season off and went traveling the world, he has already been become the locker room DJ.


#61 Malcom Mcleod, hailing from Stratford, a dynamic Defenseman, that took last season off after a very long junior career that was spent between Stratford and Mitchell where he captained the group that he won the 2022 PJHL Pollock title.


#76 Sam Dupuis, a Bayfield blood and nifty winger who makes his way on down from Exeter, where he spent the past season as the Captain of the Hawks. 


#79 Ray Huether , Ray Ray, the Gambler knows when to hold em and when to fold em. A long-time rival that took last season off after the folding of a team that had existed just down the road from us on Highway 8. Rays competitive nature and high level skill made the transition to Green and Gold an easy one. After the OHL, CIS and WOAA, Ray is finally home. 


#91 Charlie Rankin, From the Rankin Family, the Stratford D man has been a staple for the Mitchell Hawks the past 5 years where he won the 2022 PJHL Pollock title. 


Drew Gross – From Stratford, coached the Stratford Warriors last season where they won the Cherry Cup. He joined the Cents bench staff (for now) and he’s our Reggie Dunlop. 


Green_Bastard.jpgOh and don’t worry we made sure to re-sign our mascot The Green Bastard for at least one more year, don’t tell Reevsey. 


That’s Right! The Boys are back in town!


So let’s make sure to give them a warm Seaforth welcome at the Home Opener This Saturday October 28th , 7:30pm, and reminder to wear a costume for your chance to win season tickets. 


The Boys are back in town!

Spread the word around

Guess who's back in town

Just spread the word around


Saturday Night The Boys are back in town!

The Boys

1 Alex Hutcheson G

31 Tyler Parr G

2 Hayden Tenpas D

3 Jarrett Bogdon F

6 Wyatt Carey D F

8 Braydon Blight D F

9 Kyle Stanburry

10 Sheldon Pryce

11 Brody Tenpas F

12 Blake Pickering

14 Carter Collinson D

15 Zach Hatch D

16 Jamie Huber

17 Zach Otto

18 Parker Gibbings

19 Reuben Smith

20 Liam Melady

21 Mike Siddall

22 Brady Wiffen

24 Holdyn Lansink

26 Jacob Finlayson F

61 Malcom Mcleod

76 Sam Dupuis

79 Ray Huether

91 Charlie Rankin D


Let’s Roll. 

How to follow us!

Twitter: @centshockey

Instagram: @centenaires