Battle of Highway 8...., News (Seaforth Centenaires)

News Article
News Article Image
Feb 04, 2020 | Rusty Blades | 1923 views
Battle of Highway 8....
Call Joe Ryan. Get the plows out, there is a storm brewing on highway 8.

Seaforth Centenaires and Clinton Radars are set for round one of the 2020 WOAA Sr AA playoffs.

In the new rules era of the WOAA Sr AA hockey, the one thing nobody can disagree with is the parity it brought to the league. Never has the championship been so wide open to all the top 8 teams in the AA division. Two of the most dangerous are the number 5 seed Centenaires and number 4 seed Clinton Radars. 

Over the past number of years the rivalry that has been brewing between the Centenaires and Radars, has become more and more competitive. Both teams are built to be potent scoring teams - combining for more than 240 goals in 2019-20. Each team has bolstered their teams by investing locally. The Radars brought local talent of Ray Heuther and Jamie Huber aboard in 2019-20. The Cents added to their team with Seaforth players Liam Melady, Holdyn Lansink and Craig Dalrymple. In their three regular season matchups Cents took the first win in Seaforth. The Radars answered back winning the infamous C4th HamSlam night in a thrilling overtime game. Radars backed that up at home in front of more than 1000 Huron county hockey faithful with another win. 


Friday night the rivalry meets another level. The Centenaires with their most competitive team to date, meet up with the 4 time defending champion Clinton Radars in Clinton. The battle of highway 8 is set to go.

2020 Playoff Schedule

1) Fri, Feb. 7 2020 in Clinton 8:30pm 
2) Sun, Feb. 9 2020 in Seaforth 7:30pm 
3) Fri, Feb. 14  2020 in Clinton 8:30pm 
4) Sat, Feb. 15 2020 in Seaforth 7:30pm 
5) Fri, Feb. 21 2020 in Clinton  8:30pm 
6) Sat, Feb. 22 2020 in Seaforth  7:30pm 
7) Sun, Feb. 23 2020 in Clinton 5:00pm


What does this party cost? 

Gate fees

$10.00 Adult

$5.00 Students 

$8.00 Senior +65

Pre school Free

What are all the times on SUNDAY?

Gate opens at 6:30pm.

Warm Up time: 7:00 pm-7:20 pm

Introductions and National Anthem: 7:25 pm

Puck drop time: 7:30 pm

What else?


50/50 Draw $2.00

Blue Line Club Opens: 7:00 pm


How to follow us!

Twitter:    @centshockey

Instagram: @centenaires



2019-20 Centenaires

Coaching Staff

Coach Chris Reeves

Coach Tom Turner

Coach Andrew VanVliet

Coach Barry Young

Trainer Ashley Campbell

Equipment:  Grant Turner

General Manager John Steffler/Kevin Varley


Seaforth Centenaires

#   Pos.   Name                      Junior/Pro Career Team

1   G Alex Hutchison Dorchester Jr C

29 G Jesse Raymond          Sarnia Sting, Stratford Cullitons

31 G Chuck Robertson        C4th Jr. D/Radars

2   D Danny Bryan "A"        St Marys Jr B

4   D James Toye    “A”        Dorchester Jr C

6   D Wyatt Carey              Goderich Flyers Jr C

7  F Brendon Merritt          St Marys Jr B
8  D Brayden Blight-Royal  Kingston Frontenacs

9  F Josh Gaynor "C"          Stratford Cullitons Jr B

10 F Chad Brulotte            Aylmer Spitfires

11 F  Liam Melady Wingham Ironmen

14 F  Mark VanDooren        Stratford Cullitons Jr B

15 F Nick Jung Stratford, Mitchell
16 F  Cole Mckee Lucan Irish Jr C

18 D Harlen VanWynsberghe Listowel Cyclones Jr B

19 D Reuben Smith "A" St Marys Jr B

21 F  Rob VanWynsberghe Peoria Rivermen, Alymer Splitfires
22 F Brady Wiffen RPI - NCAA/Stratford

24 F  Holdyn Lansink Listowel Cyclones Jr B
27 D Craig Dalrymple Ohio State, Stratford Cullitons

67 F  Calvin Penney St. Mary's Jr. B

71 F  Hayden Broomhead Sweden, Stratford Cullitons

76 D Adam Corbett Listowel Cyclones Jr B

79 D Tyson Kielt Stratford/St.Mary's/London Jr. B
91 F  Conor Carson              Cole Harbour Colts

Pete's Office Pro
Pete Martene - Centenaires Executive